Title Classifications and Fees
Title issued to a new owner for the very first time and most commonly issued upon transfer of ownership.
A salvage title is issued when a vehicle is wrecked and/or rendered a total loss in an insurance claim. Law enforcement also brands vehicles as salvage when taking title to abandoned vehicles. Salvage vehicles are not road worthy and cannot be driven on public roadways until they are properly inspected by the External linkOhio State Highway Patrol.
Replacement/Salvage Replacement Title
A replacement title is issued when the current title needs to be updated, or if the title is defaced or destroyed. No transfer of ownership occurs.
Duplicate/Salvage Duplicate Title:
A duplicate title is issued when the current title has been lost, stolen or destroyed. No transfer of ownership occurs.
Rebuilt Salvage Title
A rebuilt salvage title is issued once a salvage vehicle has been inspected by the Ohio State Highway Patrol office and the inspection report is surrendered to the Clerk of Courts office. Once a salvage title has been converted to a rebuilt salvage title, license plates can be purchased and the vehicle can be driven on a public roadway.
Clerk of Courts Schedule of Fees
The title and miscellaneous fees assessed by this office are prescribed by the statutes and provisions set forth by the External linkOhio Revised Code.
|Type of Fees
|Lien Notations (with or without memo)
|Dealer Resale w/Lien or Lien Notation
|Daily Rental, Company and Vendor
|Salvage with Lien (with or without memo)
|Dealer Resale Titles
Converting Your Out-of-State Title
Why do I need an OHIO title?
In order to register your vehicle and obtain license plates in Ohio, your out-of-state title needs to be converted to an Ohio title.
What do I need to bring?
- Physical Certificate of Title
Dual ownership requires both parties to be present unless a power of attorney is provided. Social Security numbers for all parties are required. Photocopies of title are not accepted.
- A valid government issued drivers license or identification card.
- A BMV Out of State Inspection
Inspections available at the Auto Title South branch, any deputy registrar or new car dealership. Inspection fees may apply.
- A Lien Release from your lien holder.
Only applicable if an open lien exists on your title that has been satisfied.
- Two Powers of Attorney from lessor.
Lease Transactions Only. Must be an original or certified copy. Please also request your leasing company’s federal tax ID and tax exemption numbers (LD# or 99#).
- $16.50 title fee*
*add $1.00 fee per notarization. We accept cash, check or credit card payments (with a 3% fee). Please make checks payable to: Franklin County Clerk of Courts.
What if my lien holder is holding my title?
Simply complete a transfer request form and send it to your lien holder. Forms and instructions are available at our office or on the Auto Title Forms page.
How do I transfer my title?
Visit one of our Franklin County offices:
980 Morse Rd.
Columbus, Ohio 43229
1583 Alum Creek Dr.
Columbus, Ohio 43209
45 Great Southern Blvd.
Columbus, Ohio 43207
4153 West Broad St.
Columbus, Ohio 43228
Mail your forms and check payment to:* Franklin County Clerk of Courts
Auto Title Division
45 Great Southern Blvd.
Columbus, Ohio 43207
*Include a stamped, self-addressed envelope for your completed title.
Opens in new windowTransferring Your Out-of-State Title to Ohio (PDF)
Opens in new windowInstructions for Transferring Your Out-of-State Title with a Lien or Lease to an Ohio Title (PDF)
Register Your Motor Vehicle
Effective July 1, 2015, Ohio requires that within 30 days of becoming a resident of this state, any person who owns a motor vehicle operated or driven upon the public roads or highways must register the vehicle in this state. After establishing residency, a person may not operate a vehicle in this state with a license from another state. Violation of this section of the External linkOhio Revised Code (ORC) is a minor misdemeanor (External linkORC §4503.111).
To register your vehicle in the External linkState of Ohio, please complete the following steps:
- Ensure you have the following items:
- Present your Ohio Certificate of Title (or memorandum title if your car has a lien) to any External linkDeputy Registrar Office. If you have not titled your vehicle in the External linkState of Ohio, you must complete this process first.
- The Deputy Registrar will collect the proper Opens in new windowregistration fees depending on when you purchase your tags, which taxing district you reside in, and when your birthday is. Legal owners of thevehicle must apply for registration.
Please Note: If your full legal name is inconsistent on any of the documents presented to the External linkBureau of Motor Vehicles, you must provide additional documents to establish the full name. Acceptable documents may include: certified copy of a court ordered name change; a marriage certificate or marriage license; a certified copy of a decree of divorce, dissolution, or annulment of marriage.
For more information on registering your vehicle in the State of Ohio, please contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 844.644.6268 or visit the External linkOhio BMV website.
Ohio Driver’s License
In Ohio, Ohio Driver Licenses are managed by the External linkOhio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. You are considered an Ohio resident once you: take a job, sign a lease, buy a home, or enroll children in school. To obtain an Ohio Driver License you must complete the following steps:
- Obtain a copy of the External linkDigest of Ohio Motor Vehicles from an External linkOhio Deputy Registrar location.
- Study the digest and visit the nearest Driver Examination Station for a vision screening.
- The driver’s test is usually waived for new residents who have a valid out-of- state license. Please contact a Driver Examination Station for additional information.
- You will be required to show proof of full legal name, date of birth, Social Security number and proof of legal presence, and proof of residency. Please refer to the External linkBMV acceptable identification list for additional information.
Please Note: If your full legal name is inconsistent on any of the documents presented to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, you must provide additional documents to establish the full name. Acceptable documents may include: certified copy of a court ordered name change; a marriage certificate or marriage license; a certified copy of a decree of divorce, dissolution, or annulment of marriage.
For more information regarding obtaining an Ohio Driver License, please contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 614.752.7600 or visit the External linkOhio BMV website.