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373 S. High Street, Floor 4
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614.525.4410

New Garnishment Procedures
Personal Earnings

A State of Ohio garnishment law became effective on March 30, 1999. This law will increase the employers’
administrative responsibilities because, except for the reasons indicated below, you will be required to make
periodic wage garnishment payments to this court until the judgment rendered against your employee is paid in
full. You will receive a $10.00 check as your fee for fulfilling this obligation and will no longer receive a monthly
notice of garnishment.

The new law, which is referred to as the “Continuous Order of Garnishment”, replaces the current “once every
30 days” garnishment system with a garnishment order which continues on automatic pilot until the judgment is
satisfied. This continuous order of garnishment requires periodic wage payments be made into the court
[6.25% a week, 12.5% bi-weekly or semi-monthly or 25% per month] per pay cycle unless either or both of the
following occur:

1. You receive another notice of garnishment order(s) from one or more additional creditors.
2. You receive notice of a higher priority garnishment order.

1. Garnishment Orders from More Than One Creditor

When you receive notice of garnishment order(s) from two or more creditors for the same employee (debtor),
each order is limited to a “182-day” order instead of an “until satisfied” order. Each garnishment order is acted
upon in 182 day increments and continues on automatic pilot for 182 days for each successive creditor. There
is no limit to the number of creditors that can be stacked in this manner and, because a creditor may not renew
an order until after the one in effect has run its full 182-day course, an orderly progression of creditors
becomes apparent.

2. Higher Priority Garnishment Order

Garnishments from higher jurisdictional courts, child support orders, and tax levies are examples of higher
priority garnishments. These take precedence over other garnishments, and when received, are to be acted
upon immediately, terminating further action on the garnishment in progress at the time of its receipt. One of
the few exceptions to this portion of the law would be if the amount of the higher priority garnishment were less
the total amount allowable by law to be deducted from an employee’s (debtors) wages. If that situation should
occur the difference is to be remitted into court for the eligible creditor during the 182-day period or until
satisfied.

Changes in Reporting Requirements The new law brings with it changes in your paperwork and reporting
requirements. The “Interim Report and Answer of Garnishee” and the “Final Report and Answer of Garnishee”
are new forms you must complete and submit to the court. The Interim Report is filed with EACH payment you
make, including a signed copy for your employee (debtor). The Final Report is executed and submitted to the
court if the garnishment is paid in full, a creditor’'s 182-day collecting period expires, a higher priority
garnishment order is received, a trustee is appointed or a bankruptcy is filed.

. . Reviewed and Approved CLCT Comm 1/2016 . .
Clerk.FranklinCountyOhio.Gov FranklinCountyAutoTitle.com

614.525.3600 614.525.3090




The Honorable Maryellen O’Shaughnessy

Franklin County Clerk of Courts Domestic Relations Division
373 S. High Street, Floor 4

Columbus, Ohio 43215

614.525.4410

Instructions for Filing

Personal Earnings Garnishment

The Creditor will need to prepare the following documents:

¢ Original Notarized Affidavit of the Judgment Creditor (Form COC-CV-02).

e Original and two (2) copies of the Notice to Judgment Debtor (Form # COC-CV-60-D).

e Original and two (2) copies of the Section A. Court Order and Notice of Garnishment (Form COC-CV-
09/E).

¢ Original and two (2) copies of the Section B. Answer of the Employer (Garnishee) (Form COC-CV-05).

¢ Original Interim Report and Answer Of Garnishee (Form COC-CV-03).

e Original Final Report and Answer Of Garnishee (Form OC-CV-04).

¢ Instructions For Service, which includes the name and address of the employer and the type of service
requested.

e $35.00 per employer.

A copy of the Judgment Entry must be submitted with the Garnishment Forms. The Judge will not sign the
Garnishment Order without seeing the Judgment. The Employer must serve a copy of the Notice Of
Garnishment on the employee—the Clerk of Courts does not serve this order.

Please contact the Domestic Relations Division directly at (614) 525-4410 with any additional inquiries.
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