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Know Your Rights

Governor Mike DeWine

EQuAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY IS THE LAW
The Ohio Civil Rights Act protecs applicants and enploees of private

employers, state, connty and local s

Must be posted in a conspicuous place for convenient viewing by all employees and applicants. Race and Color

Ohio law prohibits discrimination on the basis of race or
color in hiring, promotion, tenure, discharge, pay, fringe
benefits, job training, classification, referral, terms,
conditions and privileges of employment, or any other matter

POSTER GUARD directly or indirectly related to employment.

In addition, any facially neutral employment policy or
practice that results in a discriminatory impact on the basis
of race or color is a prohibited form of discrimination unless
such policy or practice is job-related and based upon
business necessity.

National Origin and Ancestry
Ohio law prohibits discrimination on the basis of national
origin or ancestry in hiring, promotion, tenure, discharge,
pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral,
terms, conditions and privileges of employment, or any other
matter directly or indirectly related to employment

(COMPLANCE PROTECTION GUARANTEED Y COMPLYRIGHT-

Guaranteed protection against changing laws.
866-463-4574 « www.posterguard.com

MINIMUM WAGE
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In addition, any policy or practice limiting or prohibiting the
use of any language in the workplace is a prohibited form of
discrimination unless such limitation or prohibition is job-

related and based upon business necessity.

Sex, Including Pregnancy, Sexual
Orientation, and Gender Identity

Ohio law prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex or
pregnancy in hiring, promotion, tenure, discharge, pay,

Jon Husted

STATE OF OHIO

2023 MINIMUM WAGE

www.com.ohio.gov

Lt. Governor

Sheryl Maxfield fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, terms,
Director conditions and privileges of employment, or any other matter

directly or indirectly related to employment

Women affected by pregnancy, childbirth or related medical
condition must be afforded leave for a reasonable period of
time and may not be discharged under a policy providing
insufficient orno leave.

The U.S. Supreme Court, in the case of Bostock v. Clayton
Cty., Georgia. U.S. 140 S. Ct. 1731 (2020), as well as other
federal court cases, have extended sex discrimination to
include prohibition of employment discrimination on the
basis of sexual orientation and gender identity.

NON-TIPPED EMPLOYEES

A Minimum Wage of
$10.10 per hour

“Non-Tipped Employees” includes any employee who does not engage in an occupation in which he/she customarily and regularly receives more
than thirty dollars ($30.00) per month in tips.

Religion

Ohio law prohibits discrimination on the basis of religion in
hifing, promotion, tenure, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job
training, classification, referral, terms, conditions and
privileges of employment, or any ofher matter directly or
indirectly related to employment.

In addition, applicants and employees must be provided with
a reasonable accommodation for religious beliefs and
practices, except when the accommodation imposes an
undue hardship.

“Employers” who gross less than $372,000 shall pay their employees no less than the current federal minimum wage rate.

“Employees” under the age of 16 shall be paid no less than the current federal minimum wage rate.

The Ohio Civil Rights Commission (OCRC) investigates
of ination and in

“Current Federal Minimum Wage” is $7.25 per hour.

Complaints must be filed with the OCRC within two years of
the last act of discrimination or harassment.

TIPPED EMPLOYEES
CHILD LABOR

A Minimum Wage of

ENFORCEMENT

labor o

agencies and personnel placement services from unlawful discriminatory employment /Jm:/z[er

Military Status

Ohio law prohibits discrimination on the basis of military
status in hiring, promotion, tenure, discharge, pay, finge
benefits, job training, classification, referral, terms,
conditions and privileges of employment, or any other matter
directly or indirectly related to employment.

In addition, employees who leave employment to perform
military service, which includes the performance of duty, on
a voluntary or involuntary basis, in a uniformed service,
under competent authority, must be reemployed upon
condlusion of such service.

Disability
Ohio law prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in
hiring, promotion, tenure, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job
training, classification, referral, terms, conditions and
privileges of employment, or any other matter directly or
indirectly related to employment.

In addition, applicants and employees must be provided with

a exce
when the accommodation imposes an undue hardship.

Ohio law prohibits discrimination against persons 40 years
of age or older on the basis of age in hirng, promotion,
tenure, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training,
classification, referral, terms, conditions and privileges of
employment, or any other matter directly or indirectly related
to employment

Harassment

Ohio law prohibits harassment in the workplace on any basis
set forth herein, which includes the creation of a racially or
sexually hostile work environment, verbally or physically
abusive treatment, and requiring submission to sexual
advances as a condition of employment, continued
eemployment or promotion

In addition, all reasonable steps should be taken to prevent
and promptly correct harassment in the workplace, which
indudes the establisnment of a policy agains! harassment

ceiving, and
complalnts of workplace harassment.

Retaliation

Ohio law prohibits retaliation against any person because
that person has opposed any unlawful discriminatory
practice, or because that person has made a charge,
testified, assisted or participated in any manner in any
investigation, proceeding or hearing.

For more information or assistance in filing a complaint, please
call toll free: 1-888-278-7101, TTY (614) 752-2391 or visit our
website at: www.cre.ohio.gov

$5.05 per hour PLUS TIPS

“Tipped Employees” includes any employee who engages in an occupation in which he/she customarily and regularly receives more than thirty
dollars ($30.00) per month in tips. Employers electing to use the tip credit provision must be able to show that tipped employees receive at least
the minimum wage when direct or cash wages and the tip credit amount are combined.

OVERTIME
INDIVIDUALS EXEMPT FROM MI

MUM WAGE
1. An employer shall pay an employee for overtime at a wage rate of

one and one-half times the employee’s wage rate for hours in 1. Any individual employed by the United States;

excess of 40 hours in one work week, except for employers

srossing less th 150,000 . .
grossing less than $150, pet year 2. Any individual employed as a baby-sitter in the employer’s home,

or a live-in companion to a sick, convalescing, or elderly person

RECORDS TO BE KEPT BY THE EMPLOYER A . . .
whose principal duties do not include housekeeping;

—_

Each employer shall keep records for at least three years, available

for copying and inspection by the Director of the Ohio Department 3. Any individual employed as an outside salesman compensated by
of Commerce, showing the following information concerning each commissions or in a bona fide executive, administrative, or
employee: professional capacity, or computer professionals;

A. Name
B. Address

C. Occupation

D. Rate of Pay

E. Amount paid each pay period

F. Hours worked each day and each work week

. Any individual who volunteers to perform services for a public
agency which is a State, a political subdivision of a State, or an
interstate government agency, if
(1) the individual receives no compensation or is paid expenses,
reasonable benefits, or a nominal fee to perform the services for
which the individual volunteered; and
(i) such services are not the same type of services which the

2. The records may be opened for inspection or copying at any individual is employed to perform for such public agency;

reasonable time and no employer shall hinder or delay the Director

of the Ohio Department of Commerce in the performance of these o . X
duties. 5. Any individual who works or provides personal services of a

charitable nature in a hospital or health institution for which

SUB-MI compensation is not sought or contemplated;

MUM WAGE RATE

To prevent the curtailment of opportunities for employment and avoid
undue hardship to individuals whose earning capacity is affected or
impaired by physical or mental deficiencies or injuries, a sub-minimum

wage may be paid, as provided in the rules and regulations set forth by

the Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce. 7.

. Any individual in the employ of a camp or recreational area for
children under eighteen years of age and owned and operated by a
non-profit organization or group of organizations.

Employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are
family members of an owner.

* For information about additional exemptions, please visit the Ohio
Division of Industrial Compliance or U.S. Department of Labor
websites.

For further information about minimum wage issues, please contact: The Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance, 6606
Tussing Road, Reynoldsburg, Ohio 43068. Phone: 614-644-2239. TTY/TDD: 1-800-750-0750. An Equal Opportunity Employer and Service
Provider. (REV. 9/30/22)

POST IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE
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MINOR LABOR LAWS
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OHIO REVISED CODE CHAPTER 4109*
"MINOR " MEANS ANY PERSON LESS THAN 18 YEARS OF AGE

very minor 14 through 17 years of age must have a working permit unless otherwise stated in Chapter 4109,
: No employer shall give employment to a minor without agrecing with him/her as to the wages or compensation he/she shall receive for each day, week,

REST PERIOD: No employer shall employ a minor more than 5 consccutive hours without a rest period of at least 30 minutes.
LIST OF MINORS EMPLOYED: Employer shall keep a list of minors employed at each establishment and a list must be posted in a conspicuous place to which all minor
employees have

TIME RECORDS: Every employer shall keep a time book or other written record showing actual starting and stopping time of each work and rest period. These records must
be kept for two (2) years.

RESTRICTIONS ON WORKING HOURS FOR MINORS 14 and 15 YEARS OF AGE

No person under 16 shall be employed:
. During school hours except where specifically permitted by Chapter 4109
. Before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m. from June 1" to September 1* or during any school holiday of 5 school days or more; or after 7 p.m. at any other time

. For more than § hours in any day when school is not in session
. For more than 40 hours in any week that school is not in session nor during school hours, unless employment is incidental to bona fide programs of vocational cooperative
training, work-study, or other work-oriented programs with the purpose of educating students, and the program meets standards established by the state board of education.

RESTRICTIONS ON WORKING HOURS FOR MINORS 16 and 17 YEARS OF AGE
No person 16 or 17 who is required to attend school shall be employed:

1. Before 7 a.m. on any day that school is in session or 6 a.m. if the person was not employed after 8 p.m. the previous night

2. After 11 p.m. on any night preceding a day that school is in session.

PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS FOR MINORS UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE

. All manufacturing; mining; processing; public messenger service
. Work in freezers and meat coolers and all preparation of meats for sale (except wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing and stocking)
. Transportation; storage; communications; public utilities; construction; repair
. Work in boiler or engine rooms; maintenance or repair of machinery
. Outside window washing from window sills or scaffold
. Cooking and baking; operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling or repairing power-driven food slicers, grinders, food choppers, cutters, bakery type mixers
Loading or unloading goods to and from trucks

8. All warehouse work except office and clerical

9. Work in conncction with cars and trucks involving the use of pits, racks or lifting apparatus or involving the inflation of any tire mounted on a rim equipped with a

removable retaining ring.

PROHIBITED OCCUPA TIONS FOR MINORS 14 through 17 YEARS OF AGE

involving King, processing or 10. iven woodworking machines
rclldcnng 1. s

Power-driven bakery machines 12. Occupations in connection with mining, other th
Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile and kindred 13. Logging and saw 2

products 14. Motor vehicle occupations

Occupations involved in the manufacture of chemicals 15. Maritime and longshoreman occupations
Manufacturing or storage occupations involving explosives 16. Railroads

Occupatior iving exposure to radioactive substances and to 17. Excavation operations

ionizing radiations 18. Power-driven and hoisting apparatus
Power-driven paper products machines 19 Roofing operations

Power-driven metal forming, punching and shearing machines 20. Wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking.
Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven circular saws,

band saws and guillotine shears

MINORS UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE MAY NOT ENGAGE IN DOOR-TO-DOOR
EMPLOYMENT UNLESS

The for-profit employer is REGISTERED with the Ohio Department of Commerce. DOOR-TO-DOOR SALES EMPLOYERS SHALL:
. Be in compliance with all applicable Ohio and Federal laws relating to the employment of minors
. Provide at least one supervisor who is over the age of cighteen, for cach six minor empl
. Have been and be in compliance with Ohio's Motor Vehicle Financial Workers' C
. Require all minors to work at least in pairs
. Not employ any minor who does not have an appropriate Age and Schooling Certificate
. Provide each minor employee with a photo identification card
. Not employ any minor in any door-to-door sales activity during school hours except where specifically permitted
. Not employ minors under 16 in door-to-door sales activity before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m.
. Not employ minors 16 and 17 years of age in door-to-door sales activity . or after § p.m.

and all other applicable laws

“For Exceptions to Coverage See Chapter 4109.06
This is a summary of ORC 4109. This summary does not include all of the requirements for minor labor laws. Persons
should refer to 4109 for specific requirements applicable to them. This information can be accessed through the Ohio
Department of Commerce website at www.com.ohio.gov.

POST IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE
For further information about Minor Labor issues, please contact: The Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance & Labor,
6606 Tussing Road, Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 Phone: 614-644-2239. TTY/TDD: 800-750-0750. An Equal Opportunity Employer and Service Provider — (rev. 9/13/16)
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