
Service is a key component of the work 
Auto Title Staff provides our customers.  
We want to ensure your experience with 
our office is a positive one.  Call our 
DEDICATED TITLE HELP LINE. Talk 
with one of our customer service 
professionals.  We want your motor 
vehicle title transfer to be accurate and 
processed here in Franklin County. 
 
Thank you. 
 
Maryellen O’Shaughnessy 
Franklin County Clerk of Courts 

Titles & Fees 

Estimating costs for your title 
transfer?  Please use this fee schedule 

to determine what we will collect 
upon your visit to our office.  
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Title Classifications & Definitions 
 

Original Title:   
Title issued to a new owner for the very first time and most 
commonly issued upon transfer of ownership. 
Salvage Title: 
A salvage title is issued when a vehicle is wrecked and/or 
rendered a total loss in an insurance claim.  Law enforcement 
also brands vehicles as salvage when taking title to abandoned 
vehicles.  Salvage vehicles are not road worthy and cannot be 
driven on public roadways until they are properly inspected 
by the Ohio State Highway Patrol. 

Replacement/Salvage Replacement Title: 
A replacement title is issued when the current title needs to 
be updated, or if the title is defaced or destroyed.  No transfer 
of ownership occurs. 

Duplicate/Salvage Duplicate Title: 
A duplicate title is issued when the current title has been lost, 
stolen or destroyed.  No transfer of ownership occurs. 

Rebuilt Salvage Title: 
A rebuilt salvage title is issued once a salvage vehicle has been 
inspected by the Ohio State Highway Patrol office and the 
inspection report is surrendered to the Clerk of Courts office. 
Once a salvage title has been converted to a rebuilt salvage 
title, license plates can be purchased and the vehicle can be 
driven on a public roadway. 
 

Clerk of Courts Schedule of Fees: 
The title and miscellaneous fees assessed by this office 
are prescribed by the statutes and provisions set forth 
by the Ohio Revised Code. 
 

Original Title     $15.00 
Replacement Titles   $15.00 
Duplicate Titles    $15.00 
Lien Notations (with or without memo)   $15.00 
Repossession Titles   $15.00 
Leasing Dealer    $15.00 
Dealer Resale w/Lien or lien notation $15.00 
Daily Rental, Company and vendor  $15.00 
Salvage with Lien (with or without memo) $15.00 
Memorandum Only    $5.00 
Dealer Resale Titles   $5.00 
Dealer Replacement Titles   $5.00 
Late Fee     $5.00 
Archive Fee    $5.00 
Salvage Titles    $4.00 
Salvage Replacement   $4.00 

Inspection Fee    $1.50 
Affidavit Fee    $1.00 

Need Forms or Have Questions? 
Call our DEDICATED TITLE HELP LINE at  
(614) 525-3090 or franklincountyautotitle.com. 


